WHEN FOREVER LIES

Since the last conglomeration was so popular we decided to write another poem together. By Edward Hotspur and HastyWords!

It pains me to see that look

Unfolding behind your eyes

Desire for someone else

Fueling a passion full of lies

It hurts for me to see you stare

And smile so blissfully

At someone across the room

When you’re sitting next to me

It’s not just your choice of clothes

Or the secrets locked in your smile

It’s the mysterious glimmer in your eyes

Things I haven’t seen in awhile

Am I not enough for you

Be honest with me

Is someone out there all the things

That I could never be

Marriage was never our guarantee

So I am no longer the person I used to be

Always trying to be your everything

You changed the very core of me

We said we’d always be together

We said forever and swore

Til death do we part, and we do

But you don’t anymore

So here I sit watching you

Seeing promises in her you want to keep

I’m now your version of me

And feeling I settled far too cheap

14 thoughts on “WHEN FOREVER LIES

  1. Pingback: Friday Foolishness – Psychedelic Edition | Guapola

  2. Pingback: Friday Foolishness – Psychedelic Edition | Guapola

  3. Pingback: The Hastywords Equation | Edward Hotspur

  4. Pingback: Swallowing Sky | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

