THE COST AND ITS CURE

Daily Prompt: Hindsight

Now that you’ve got some blogging experience under your belt, re-write your very first post.

I am re-blogging this post.  I don’t want to re-write it so I am posting it as is.  As it says below I wrote this for a friend.  But now as I read it, I am thinking of so many other people I have come to know over the last half year and how it is also their story.

Recently I was texting with a new friend of mine.  During our conversations I learned about a relationship he just ended and the healing taking place.  I worry about my friends who have hard break ups, I worry about how the broken pieces in their heart will mend back together.  Scars are an inevitable part of every journey but scars can be an eyesore if they don’t heal properly reminding you of the painful past or they can heal beautifully and become only a brief reminder of lessons learned.  A bad relationship can make you afraid to risk your heart again.  The bad experience can hurt you so deeply you forget how to ever trust again.  My prayer and hope for my friends is that they realize relationships are like fingerprints, no two are ever alike.  If you find yourself ending a relationship then take a step back to regain your posture, allow your heart to heal on your own time schedule, but then keep an open mind to those new relationships that are waiting to bring you happiness.

The Cost and Its Cure

When you talked to me it was so hard to breath

I fantasized mercilessly at the thought of your touch

I really just tried to act normal

Tried very hard not to think too much

Just looking into your eyes was hard

Your intentions so hard to figure out

Knowing there was nowhere to go but forward

I fought the absurd waves of self-doubt

Searching my past I venture a quick glance back

Analyzing all the love that eventually left me in pain

I failed too often, not something I am proud of,  just a fact

Facts that hauntingly leave me to wonder what you could possibly gain

How many chances should we take? How many times can a good heart break?

How much temptation can we endure? How much pain before we are burnt?

How much before we find our cure?  How much before we find love?  

My emotions completely entangled in knots

I want to save you from wasting your time

Willing to pay a pretty penny to hear my thoughts

But in the end I will end up costing you a dime

Who’s to say that this time the love won’t be true

Maybe this time will be the time everything is right

I can’t help wondering if you would try if you knew

Will this time be different?  For us will you fight?

I have never felt so vulnerable before

I don’t know who I am when you’re around much less who I was

I don’t know if I want to be a part of something anymore

Especially so soon, especially went it involves an “us”

How many chances should we take? How many times can a good heart break?

How much temptation can we endure? How much pain before we are burnt?

How much before we find our cure?  How much before we find love?  

Don’t you see? They all told me they would stay

Don’t you see?  They promised they could

Don’t you see?  They chose too quickly to walk away

Don’t you see?  In the beginning I always knew they would

It always starts out perfectly and beautifully fine

We make plans and promise we will never part

But eventually, too far down the road, comes the end of the line

I never held back, never saved any for myself, always giving all of my heart

Of course I have nobody but myself to blame

At some point you would think I would have known

Would have learned that, in the end, it is all just a pointless game

One that can’t be won and always leaves you lost desperately alone

How many chances should we take? How many times can a good heart break?

How much temptation can we endure? How much pain before we are burnt?

How much before we find our cure?  How much before we find love?  

Even though you set my heart on fire I think you know

There isn’t too much more I can give

Maybe we can start on the edge of a lake skipping stones

Just hang out, take things slow, teach each other what it’s like to live

I don’t want to be the one that is too hard to love

I am looking for that one person to teach me to trust

I am not looking for anything that is just typical

I just want to give love, and to be loved is an absolute must

So before I open my mouth to say yes to your advance

I really must know if all of this is far too much to ask

Please understand I can’t take another chance

My heart simply cannot with stand another lover just wearing a mask

How many chances should we take? How many times can a good heart break?

How much temptation can we endure? How much pain before we are burnt?

How much before we find our cure?  How much before we find love?  

8 thoughts on “THE COST AND ITS CURE

  1. I think that’s a pretty cool thing or maybe it’s just a regular bloggy thing where people say a bit about why the stuff affected them then go on- to the thing they wrote about it. That’s a nice aspect, in a lot of ways that’s more poem and more sincere than any poem. Sort of like your favourite voice or rockstar doing an unplugged acoustic session, acoustic versions of things are always the best. So, yup, I enjoyed how the reading of one thing improved or enriched my enjoyment of the other.

    Like

    • Thank you for this comment. I struggled with wondering if anyone would even care why something was written or not so I had began to leave the commentary part out. I like it only because I can see or know what I was going through when I wrote something. Thanks again! :)

      Like

  2. That was beautiful. It reminds me of one of the lines from the Song of songs – I charge you, O daughters of Jerusalem, Do not stir up nor awaken love Until it pleases. (Song of Solomon 8:4) Yes, this was really beautiful and heartfelt. Thanks for reposting, and I wouldn’t have changed a word either. :)

    Like

  3. Pingback: Reflections: In Hindsight, Optimism Prevails… | Mirth and Motivation

  4. Pingback: Reflections: In Hindsight, Optimism Prevails… | The Blog Farm - A Growing Blog Community

  5. Pingback: Shift your Perspective | Beyond Beauty Tips

  6. Pingback: Writing in Third Person Omniscient | Things To Rave About

  7. Pingback: Writing in Third Person Omniscient | Things To Rave About

Leave a Reply

