IN REMEMBRANCE OF SANDY HOOK ELEMENTARY

D.L. McHale asked me to  help write the following poem.  I was honored and proud to do this project with someone so talented.  I had avoided all news of this tragedy until now and I do have to admit this was the hardest poem I have ever helped write.  I really did very little in the format of this poem and I am eternally grateful for this experience.  I asked my daughter to draw a picture of Heaven and this is what she came up with.

Drawn by the talented HastyKid

Drawn by the talented HastyKid

Written by D.L.McHale and HastyWords

 

 “Friday, December 14, 2012 – on this chilled and inhumane date, the gates of Heaven were flung wide open as God embraced the 1st grade class of Sandy Hook Elementary School.”

The sun arose this winter day –
In Sandy Hook the children played.
Halls echoing with carefree glee,
As children’s days were meant to be
Each parent dreams of such a vision –
                 ‘Til life injects its cruel revision.

 

Yet, like a child’s lost innocence,
Cherished and held in reverence –
In just one moment swept away
No sympathy for child’s play.
Into their lives a darkness came;
                 Into our own, an infinite pain.

 

Screams of fear filled empty spaces –
A blur of frightened, tortured faces!
Malevolence came and stole their futures,
Wounds too big for mending sutures.
We heard the sounds of angels cry –
                 The day we watched our children die.

 

We swallow hard; prayed harder still –
Our heartbeats faltered against our will.
The deafening blast of pure insanity
As evil tore the fabric of our humanity!
A nation mourns with silent tongue
                 The senseless death of these so young.

 

Six teachers did their very best –
Each offered up their loving breast
To shield from bullets savage blow,
To buy these young ones time to grow.
Each died for love, lest we forget…
                 Upon their memory, no sun will set.

 

Such sorrow confines us to hatred’s prison,
Continually torments us with ungodly visions!
Of children lost and taken away
When the sun arose that winter day.
We are lost within an anguished grief,
                 As even celestial angels weep.

 

Impeccant cherubs laid to rest;
God took from us our very best.
The loss we feel is real and deep,
The pain forever ours to keep.
No answers to the question, “Why?”
                 Our babies were not born to die.

 

So, brush away our tortured tears;
This truth is too demanding,
And whisper in my silent ears
Some prayer of understanding.
Twenty-six stars now shine above,
                 Eternal bright and beaming love.

  1. Daily Post: Dearly Departed | tel-uh-vizh-uh-ner-ee
  2. Deathbed Thoughts | The Happy Hermit
  3. The Daily Prompt « Hope* the happy hugger
  4. Daily Prompt: Dearly Departed | Stuphblog
  5. Daily Prompt: Dearly Departed | Purple Rosemary
  6. My Eulogy for Myself | The Nameless One
  7. Daily Prompt ~ My Eulogy | Misifusa’s Blog
  8. Dearly Departed « Adventures of an Aussie Girl in London
  9. Your Oz | Mind of Shoo
  10. Daily Prompt : Eulogy to an unknown blogger | Verity Keen
  11. JUST SOMEONE ONCE « hastywords
  12. Daily Prompt: Dearly Departed « Kerry Dwyer
  13. Daily Prompt: Dearly Departed | Daddy’s Naughty Little Girl
  14. Daily Prompt: Dearly Departed « Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  15. We are gathered here today… « theloneshewolf
  16. Dearly Departed or my failed attempt at writing my eulogy [Daily Prompt] « Q the Adult
  17. Daily Prompt: Dearly Departed | Reviewer Rose
  18. How many words am I worth? | Pigments of Life
  19. Dearly Departed. . . « Daily Promptness
  20. Daily Prompt: Dearly Departed « Being Brandy
  21. Time To Say Goodbye « In Harmony
  22. Daily Prompt: Dearly Departed | desabrat
  23. R.I.P. Me… « dearanonymousfriend
  24. Daily Prompt: What A Waste! | wordsandotherthings
  25. Daily Prompt: Dearly Departed « A Western Buddhist’s Travels
  26. Daily Prompt: Dearly Departed « Therapy in Music
  27. Daily Prompt: Dearly Departed | Now Writing Every Day
  28. Eulogy For A Fish « Fish Of Gold
  29. The Day That I Die | This Thread Sucks
  30. Daily Prompt: Dearly Departed | Burning Fire Shut Up In My Bones
  31. She’ll be here all week, folks. Thank you and good night! DP: Dearly Departed | Elizabeth Los
  32. Tribute to Doverock: another Moses in the ultimate Promised Land. | marvalously
  33. My own Eulogy at the Sunset of my Thought Provoking Creativity | My.Vivid.Visions
  34. Autoeulogy Of Hotspur – A Daily Prompt Post « Lyrical Anarchy
  35. Autoeulogy | One for the Big Guy.. sometimes.
  36. Daily Prompt : Eulogy For Amit « The Girl With The Scorpion Tattoo
  37. Ask Karen « Sisters of Christ
  38. Daily Prompt: Dearly Departed “What’s an Eulogy???” | My life! My Way!
  39. Dearly Departed… Or Not So Much | At least we made it this far…
  40. Daily Prompts: Writing my own Eulogy. | Multifarious meanderings
  41. Death, A Trip of a Lifetime « theseeker
  42. Chat in the Box « Cheri Speak
  43. Daily Prompt: ‘Dearly Departed’ « Brandon Bored
  44. Daily Prompt: Dearly Departed | Family Photos Food & Craft
  45. A Good Thing Said Too Late | Shadoza: In My World
  46. Celebrate Life « I Believe
  47. Daily Prompt: Dearly Departed | The Blogging Path
  48. Wiley Schmidt: A Fortunate Accident? | Wiley’s Wisdom
  49. In My Mind, It’s Still You And Me | GLORIOUS METTLE
  50. Sorry Yeats, I Died… | All Those Small Things
  51. Daily Prompt: Dearly Departed—Writing My Own Eulogy « CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS
  52. LES PIPELETTES DU BLOG | Blog de Michel
  53. Eulogy | Rolbos ©
  54. Eulogy « A Blog for Laura Lee
  55. Daily Prompt: Dearly Departed « Jumbalya of thoughts and musings
  56. Anu on the move | Anar & Negar Daily
  57. Dearly Departed | motherofnine9
  58. Moments of Grace | JOY
  59. What I Hope People Remember About Me | A Cup of Joe
  60. Dearly Departed or how did she die? | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34
  61. Daily Prompt Challenge: The Last Lecture « The Wish Factor
  62. A blank page | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  63. Daily Post: This is Your Life | tel-uh-vizh-uh-ner-ee
  64. This is my life [Daily Prompt] « Q the Adult
  65. Daily Prompt~This is your life « The Cheeky Diva
  66. This is my life | My Pajama Days
  67. The story of my life (first edition?) | The Nameless One
  68. Daily Prompt: This Is Your Life | belgradestreets
  69. DP: This Is Your Life – A Mystery | A Blog’s Life
  70. This is your Life! « Melanie Ryding – Ryding2Health BLOG
  71. This is your Life: write your OWN destiny! « Melanie Ryding – Ryding2Health BLOG
  72. Dear editor, « Spunky Wayfarer
  73. “In that book w… « charlottesville winter
  74. Daily Prompt: This is my Life | LooknWalk
  75. Book of a Lifetime: MY LIFE « ayimas
  76. Daily Prompt: This Is Your Life « Gooseyanne’s Blog
  77. The Trilogy of My Life (Seriously ?) « Welcome to My World
  78. This Is Your Life | Liquid Matthew’s Development Blog
  79. Daily Prompt: This Is Your Life « Pride in Madness
  80. Daily Prompt: This Is Your Life | Going the Distance
  81. Blank Pages | Pigments of Life
  82. Post a Week: This is Your Life « sketches and scribbles (reloaded)
  83. daily prompt: this is your life « one small grain of sand.
  84. This Is Your Life? « Hope* the happy hugger
  85. Daily Prompt~Just for you, Twindaddy « The Cheeky Diva
  86. This is your life. | A Blog for Laura Lee
  87. Daily Prompt: This is your Life « Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  88. Daily Prompt: This Is Your Life — The Book of My Life « N.S. Jones’s Blog
  89. This is Your Life… | Misifusa’s Blog
  90. My life as told in a Novel « New Visions
  91. DP: This Is Your Life « Life of Me and Mine
  92. DP: This is Your Life | Common Chapters: life changes
  93. This Is Your Life… | It’s Challenging!
  94. Daily Prompt: This Is Your Life | Daddy’s Naughty Little Girl
  95. Daily Prompt: This Is Your Life | Musical Foodie Love
  96. Daily Prompt: This Is Your Life « In Harmony
  97. Daily Prompt: This Is Your Life | Stuph Blog
  98. This is my life | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More
  99. This is your life « twilightsteffie
  100. Promise of Tomorrow – Daily Prompt: This is My Life « daydreamdaisies
  101. Inspiration: A Taste For Balance… | Mirth and Motivation
  102. The Story of Your Life | A Cup of Joe
  103. Get Thee Behind Me! | Sub•scrib•bler (səb-skrĭb′lər) n.
  104. Autobiography Of Goldfish Volume 2 « Fish Of Gold
  105. Daily Prompt: This Is Your Life | Untitled Adventure
  106. Daily Prompt: This is Your Life « Inspire the Idea
  107. Daily Prompt: This Is Your Life | The Blogging Path
  108. Short and Sweet Friday | Sorta Ginger: Ramblings of a Quasi-Redhead
  109. Tainted Memories | Shadoza: In My World
  110. Daily Prompt – This Is Your Life « seventhchronicle
  111. Daily Prompt: This Is Your Life | Burning Fire Shut Up In My Bones
  112. IT’S ALL ABOUT ME – AGAIN « hastywords
  113. Daily Prompt: This Is Your Life | Family Photos Food & Craft
  114. The diary….. « To the future from the past
  115. Daily Prompt: This Is Your Life « KnowledgeKnut
  116. My life: a boxed set | Seriously Seeking Grannies
  117. DP Challenge: It’s All About ME! « Chasing Rabbit Holes
  118. Daily Prompt: This Is Your Life | Jumbalya of thoughts and musings
  119. This is Your Life « Prayers and Promises
  120. Daily Prompt: This Is Your Life « ღ Blank Doodles ღ
  121. Daily Prompt: This Is Your Life | Thump Thump Goes My Heart
  122. Daily Prompt: This Is Your Life | The Gozum Show
  123. “This is your life. The whole thing. Birth to death.” | apprentice, never master
  124. Unwritten « Polyprotic Amory
  125. MY LIFE_UNDISCOVERED | amateurxpress
  126. Daily Prompt: This Is Your Life « My Memory *~~~*
  127. Daily Prompt: This Is Your Life | ~~ Summer Always~~
  128. Lifebook | Angel Frouk
  129. This is my life: Burnt Rice – The Fried Eggs Blog
  130. Daily Prompt: ‘This is Your Life’ « Brandon Bored
  131. This is your life. Would you read it? | Blog of Leonid Mamchenkov
  132. This is MY Life | The Cranky Giraffe
  133. Weekly Photo Challenge Lights | Weekly Photo Challenge
  134. This is Your Life « The Silver Lining of the Optimistic Pessimist
  135. Daily Prompt: This is Your Life « awritersfountain
  136. Inspiration: A Taste For Balance… | The Blog Farm – A Growing Blog Community

18 thoughts on “IN REMEMBRANCE OF SANDY HOOK ELEMENTARY

  1. This. Is. Beautiful.
    My dad & I watched this tragedy on the news and I cried and watched my dad fall apart at the seems. He looked at me and said , “oh my God, those poor families… what’s to come to them with the grief, missing their children… this we know Jen, don’t we?”

    We do know. I do know. So much pain when someone is taken in one second like that. God bless them.

    This is beautiful Hasty. Every single word.
    XO~ Jen.

    Like

    • There is no such thing as “proper poetry” in my humble estimation. Everyone has their own style. I like your style. Obviously I have my own style and other poets have theirs, as well. What matters most is that the words speak to the reader, that the emotion is conveyed or even felt, and that the story is ultimately told. You do all three of these things very well, so keep on keepin’ on. You’re awesome, Hasty.

      Like

  2. This brought me to tears. I remember the day well. I tried in vain to not read, and not hear, the details that were broadcast every hour. Finally, I succumbed and wrote my own eulogy, but not nearly so eloquently as you have done.

    Thanks for putting my emotions to words – a loving tribute.

    Sincerely,
    Dennis

    Like

    • I avoided the news for so long same with Boston. But when McHale asked me to write this with him I wanted to do it justice. If you haven’t read his poetry you should….all of his stuff is this good 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

