Understudy

Meet my best blogging friend. He has a way with fictional stories and he doesn’t write poetry often but when he does I LOVE it.

The Reclining Gentleman

I have been working hard

learning the lines

studying the character

perfecting the role

of Me

in the play of My Life.

 

Some nights, I steal the show

I wow the critics

I accept the bouquets

and I know I am winning.

But on lesser nights

if I’m tired, or low, or stressed

or just because,

the magic isn’t there

 

And on those nights

I can feel my understudy watching

from the darkness

from the wings

always ready

always eager

to take over

 

to replace me

to play me in a different, darker way.

to give a performance

that won’t win awards

that won’t draw in the crowds

that will empty the theatre

and turn off the lights

 

View original post

One thought on “Understudy

Leave a Reply

