AS I GATHER MY STRENGTH

10654914_339149129597489_1206427345_a

The earth shook as if every pebble cried out
And my feet lost purchase as I stumbled about
My hands and my fingers held no more clout
As I cried
As I yelled
As I gathered my strength and began to shout

And the heavens, they rained blurry visions
Trying to get me to change, revise my revisions
Leaving me wisdom and luck, my only provisions
As I cried
As I yelled
As I gathered my strength to defend my decisions

Born with far too many irrelevant restrictions
I steadfastly studied, holding onto my convictions
I despised all the judgments and ugly predictions
As I cried
As I yelled
As I gathered my strength to fight off my addictions

Just out of focus on horizons layered in gold
Where honesty, and love are traded and sold
Your lies are underlined before they are told
As I cried
As I yelled
As I gathered my strength to live despite your doubt

Earthquakes come to threaten my foundation
Emotional turmoil tries to destroy my formation
But I stand upright and steady, like a great nation
As I cry
As I yell
As I gather my strength to endure accusation

 

 

*** Thank you to the little blogging birdie that always looks out for me and corrects my grammatical and spelling errors.ย  I write in the moment of blind emotion and I rarely proofread which is a VERY bad thing for someone who writes in view of the public.ย  So thank you …for always watching out for me.

9 thoughts on “AS I GATHER MY STRENGTH

Leave a Reply

