YOU CAN BE A FROG

 

I LOVE this silly little song and the video.  It not only makes me laugh but it makes me feel good and it makes me think.  Even more so now that I have aged a bit.  The poem below is dedicated to my daughter…who can be anything she wants to be.

11753647_10207087825735046_2925349418507841185_n

There was a time when I was young

I felt invincible, wiser, braver

And all my words made perfect sense

And I felt like my very own savior

There was a time when I was young

I made up words to every song

And I swore I would be famous

And then somehow, time passed

And I left those days behind

 ♥

Despite the passing of time

I remained in perfect wonder

Everything I was, was mine

I was wind, I was thunder

I was the sun, I was the moon

I was a reflection of the world

The world was a reflection of me

♥ 

There was a time when I was younger

I believed in things, in people, in dreams

I fell hopelessly in love, and I married

And faith was so much easier it seemed

There was a time when I was younger

Where our life seemed like it was so long

We had time to play, time to waste

And then somehow, time slipped away

And we left those days behind

♥ 

Despite the passing of time

We remained in perfect wonder

Everything we were was ours

I was water, you were fire

I was sea, you were land

We were a reflection of the world

The world was a reflection of us

 ♥

There is no more time now that I am old

My beliefs, my hopes, my dreams

Reflect not in me, but in you my dear

My daughter, my greatest work of art

There is no more time now that I am old

Before I am laid to rest inside my story

I need you to know, my miracle is you

And that somehow, time will slip away

So live each and every day ahead of you

♥ 

Despite the passing of time

Remain in perfect wonder

Everything you are is yours

You are beauty, you are love

You are freedom, you are inspiration

You are a reflection of the world

The world is a reflection of you

 

e809d13c8e7e11e2850d22000aaa095e_6

19 thoughts on “YOU CAN BE A FROG

  1. This is so great!! You YOU have put a very much needed smile upon my face.. ah, yes.. so refreshing to smile)) Love the video! Love the Flamming Lips!! Love Le Clown!! Love My Hasty!! And, of course, I love the piece you wrote!! She is an angel.. I can’t wait to meet her one day!! XoXo

    Hasty & Le Clown.. you guys rock!! ♥ Tryst

    Like

  2. Pingback: Rescue Me | ღ Think. Speak. Tryst. ღ

  3. :)http://iamforchange.wordpress.com/awards-page-and-nominations-thank-you-i-am-so-honored-and-grateful/ So many have shared so much with me and I wish to share as well please accept my nominations and if nothing else know I am grateful for your sharing on your pages with us all and the time you share with me on mine.Thank you!!🙂 Joe

    Like

  4. I had never thought about time, only dreams of child wanting to escape, yet take the sick demented, illogical, moral feeling of what I thought was love and fun. Then time took me for another strange turn into drug addiction, for a moment the escape seem real, now time is nearing the end and I have no fear, because my world is full of delusion.

    I love the poem; I have wanted to try a poem for myself by reading your poetry. Your writing hand is teaching me. Education was never my strong point in my youth, writing was at the very bottom of list because sometime the letter get mixed up by going in the wrong order. This doesn’t happen all the time, but often by rereading I see where the letter sometime have a mind of their own

    With fondest regards teacher

    toad

    Like

  5. Loved the poem and the video!
    What attracted me was the bit about being a frog.
    Down at the river with my daughter and son when they were quite small, we were having a conversation about what we would like to be when we grow up and when it came to Dylan’s turn when asked said he wanted to be a frog! He did and still does love the colour green🙂 He did not grow up to be a frog however, more a prince!

    Like

Leave a Reply

