#BeReal – DARLA HALYK

My #BeReal guest today is Darla Halyk.

I really love this beautiful soul.  She really is a very passionate person and you only have to read her blog to see it spill out of every pore.

Whenever I see her avi pop up in facebook my automatic reaction is to smile.  Not only because she is beautiful to look at but because she is so supportive (passionate) about lifting up other women.  I have a real soft spot for women like Darla and she sets a wonderful example.

I am so very happy to host her today. I hope you spend time lifting her up. Encourage her to continue being such a positive voice in a world thirsty for light.

Be passionate. #BeReal

upside down

When Hasty asked me to write for the #BeReal series, I jumped at the opportunity. I adore Hasty, not only does she have intensely, soulful blue eyes and a smile that goes on for days. Her insightful Facebook posts and raw talent as a poet never cease to amaze me. It seems she pours her heart out on the page while being supportive and nurturing to her online community. Yet, I actually don’t know Hasty; I haven’t sat at a table with her, looked into her baby blues and had a conversation. I don’t know her struggles or her triumphs, or what truly makes her tick.

Bringing me to point and the main reason I am enthusiastic to be a part of the #BeReal series. How could I possibly judge that beautiful book just by its cover? Obviously, she is so much more. We all are.

Hasty asked me to write something I am passionate about, something that would give the reader an insight to who I am, what makes me, real.

My struggle with this is, I am a passionate person in most everything I do, a dreamer and believer of the good in all persons. Often to a fault. I wear a particular shade of rose-coloured glasses in which go unfaded. I believe wholeheartedly in the fair treatment of humans, all humans.

So I found it challenging to pick one topic of passion. I am just that, passionate. Whether it be in my job, my home life, with my babies, sports or simply standing up for what I believe is right. I am the girl giving one hundred and ten percent. Maybe it is my fear of failing or perhaps the strong work ethic my parents gave me this I don’t know. What I do know is my drive to make the world a better place is one that has always been a part of me. One of my most heartfelt passions.

Ever since I was a little girl, I felt I had a voice that needed to be heard. Not a superior voice, just an important one. I accredit that to being stifled by sexual abuse at a very young age. Holding back all of my emotion and fears as a child has given me a need to speak out as an adult. So I guess my passion has become my voice, my words and helping others believe they are not alone in what can be a very lonely world.

That being said, there is nothing in this world I hold closer to my heart than my children; they are the reason I believe so deeply people are good. I have to be able to give them a glimpse of positivity and hope for their future. We live in a harsh cynical and often lonely world, my goal is to teach my children they have a voice that can change that. History has proven one person can change the world; my babies need to be able to see how important it is to speak up, to be real. They too can change the world.

Often I am criticised for being too positive, or too dreamy. Being repeatedly told, I need to be more realistic. I will not apologize, I will stick to my guns. I stand up for positivity because I believe a little hope can change the world. *Adjusts rose-coloured glasses and fills cup half full of water*

What does being real mean to you?

I genuinely believe being real comes directly from your heart. Letting my heart lead me in the right direction is how I know I am true to myself and my beliefs, real. Real for me has nothing to do with how one looks on the outside. If you choose to get a boob job and it makes you feel better about yourself than I believe you are electing to be real. If a person decides they want to wear no makeup or a ton of makeup it makes no difference to me as long as they are happy. Real is whatever you wish to be at the moment you are living it. As long as you follow your heart and feel good about yourself in your moment.

How do people see you when given an image to go by?

This question is tough. I can’t honestly answer this without assumption, so I will instead give exact quotes to pictures I have posted on Facebook.

“You guys have such happy eyes!” Written on my wall of a photo of my daughter and I.

“Your so sweet Darla” After I posted a picture of myself standing in front of the mirror, with a sticky note attached, reading you are beautiful.

” Movie star!” Of me wearing way more make-up than normal and superb lighting.

“Nice bum, where you from, where you going, can I come!” A comment on a photo I posted of me standing on third base during a baseball game.

These quotes can lead me to believe people think I am a beautiful girl with a happy home, which enjoys being hit on. I can also assume I am believed to drink a lot of wine, play baseball regularly and am confident. I wish all of these were true. Well, except I do play a lot of baseball and occasionally enjoy some wine, so there is that.

What do you think people are most surprised to discover about you?

Without a doubt, most people are surprised to hear I am incredibly insecure and in no way shape or form do I think I am beautiful. I constantly worry if I am a good enough person, Friend and Mother. I am not as confident in my skin as most people may be lead to believe. I fear getting too close to people out of fear they may get to know me too well and end up not liking me. Oh and I am terrified of the dark, panic-attack-terrified!

I want to thank Hasty for the opportunity to be a part of the #BeReal Series, I am honoured and humbled to be a part of something so incredible.


upside downBio: Darla Halyk is the Mom of a Teenage boy and Tween Girl. She studied Business Management at Simon Fraser University. Soon after receiving her Degree, she married and quickly got pregnant with her first child. Deciding to stay home with her kids instead of returning to the workforce after the birth of her son, she become an SAHM, but not your average one. The gig lasted until the kids were school-aged, and her marriage ended in Divorce. Darla has enjoyed writing since she was old enough to hold a pen to paper. Currently, she writes for her blog at NewWorldMom. Bringing a fresh, honest and humorous take on parenting, women’s issues, relationships, divorce, and life, in general.

If you like the idea of the #BeReal campaign, and want to share your views on it, please link up with us. You can help make this a bigger, brighter movement than it already is.

All opinions welcome – it’s about being real, after all!

To help spread the message, read and share one another’s posts.

And remember – be YOU! #BeReal.


22 thoughts on “#BeReal – DARLA HALYK

  1. I love you, Darla! Hasty is right. Your beauty reaches far beyond that gorgeous face. Your passion for all things and your encouragement of others is unlimited. I loved this closer look at you and I am so happy to be able to get to know you even a little in this crazy virtual world.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww, Sandy I love you too, I am so happy Hasty asked me to do this. I am grateful to have gotten to know you through the virtual world. You are an inspiration to me, as is Hasty. I just want to hug everyone. ❤

      Like

  2. Hey Darla, no need to worry about your looks: you are very pretty, beautiful. But that, of course isn’t why I follow you on FB or read your blog. You say you are passionate about a lot of things, about life, and it shows. -That’s- why I read your posts: your passion is addicting. Stick to your guns and stay positive!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Darla, my sweet friend, you’re amazing, and I’ve seen the power in your writing free, and I think you are the type who would struggle to be anything but real, and I’m glad to know you. And VERY glad you’re part of #BeReal – it’s an amazing series and I’m thrilled it’s going so well for Hasty 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Lizzi, I too am glad Hasty is succeeding with this amazing series. Your words mean so much to me and yes my heart is placed on my sleeve, real is where it is at. Let me rephrase real is all I know. Thank you my friend. ❤️

      Liked by 2 people

      • You come across as incredibly genuine, and that’s a really good thing 🙂 And YES – here’s to Hasty and her incredible series and everyone who’s participated in it, and who’s supporting such an awesome idea 🙂 Love that it’s gained so much impetus.

        Liked by 2 people

  4. I love that picture of you, Darla!! I had a blast trying to recreate it and it made me feel silly and happy. You tend to to that to people. 🙂 Without passion, not much can get accomplished in this world so I am all about passion as well.

    You are so right about Hasty’s external and internal beauty. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. There are those bloggers who we don’t know enough to sit across a table from, or even be considered regulars on each other’s pages. But they still carry an intrinsic beauty that has nothing really to do with pretty faces and fantastic bums, and everything about the efficiency their passion flows through words. You have that – and you’re on a page today of another writer who does, too.

    I’m proud to know you both, even from way out here on the perimeter.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I LOVE your passion Darla!! I love your perspective on life and giving your children such powerful empowerment to launch their lives on!! Our voices can carry far… and all voices deserved to be heard and valued. I think that is the greatest gift we can give our kids- that they have the potential to make a difference in this world.

    My heart broke, when I read about your early abuse. It seems you have created an incredible purpose from your pain, my beloved friend. I’m so glad you were able to define your life with such positive significance and fortitude. THAT is HUGE. You inspire me. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

